And that’s the end of NaNo

Did we reach 50k? Yes.

Did we finish the story? No.

Were we close? … Kinda.

As with the previous year’s story, I have no idea when we will be finishing this one. It’s been a lot of work, and I’ve learned a lot about writing both Loki and Steve, but I wouldn’t say it’s one of my shining achievements. Guess it’s called a rough draft for a reason.

The story won’t be posted until it’s gotten a re-write. As it is… my characterizations of Loki are all over the map and as Ariel pointed out earlier, Stark seems to be manipulating Loki more than the reverse. That’s my fault really, because my writing has been more reactive than it has been pro-active. And Loki is nothing but pro-active.

To make things even worse, our plot for the story was big… so big that a week ago, we decided to cut it off at the first arc. And since making that decision… and my unfortunate neck issue (damn crick)… we hadn’t had the heart to write.

This certainly wasn’t what I planned for NaNo, but at the same time, I’m glad that we took the chance and wrote fanfiction this year. There was a lot to learn, and a lot of laughs.

And I don’t think I’ll ever think of Steve Rogers the same way again.

Leave a Reply

